Built in 1907, the “new” railway station celebrates its 110th birthday in 2017. A much more elaborate station than its wood framed predecessor, Charlottetown residents were rather proud of the new building.
Like the Car Shop (recently Founders Hall), it was constructed by E.A. Wallburg. The building had three floors with the first containing a ticket sales area, as well as general and separate waiting rooms. The second floor housed offices, and the third floor was dedicated to union meetings and storage.
When Canadian National ceased operating on the Island in 1989, it was not clear what was to be done with the building. It became a temporary site for the Farmers Market and plans were being made for the Guardian newspaper to move in. Ultimately, the Workers Compensation Board would become the new tenant and the building still stands as a monument to the history of the industry that dominated this part of the City.